Contact UsBishop Barham University College |


Site Map

About Us

+ Our History

+ Church of Uganda

+ Mission Statement

+ Expanse of Diocese



+ General

+ Archdeaconaries

+ DevelopmentProgrammes


Main Problems

+ Spiritual

+ Socio-economic

+ Health

+ Information









The Church of Uganda

After its founding by the Church Missionary Society, the Church grew through the evangelization of Africans by Africans.  The first Ugandan clergy were ordained in 1893 and the Church of Uganda, Rwanda, and Burundi became in independent Province in 1961.  The history of the Church in Uganda has been marked by civil strife and martyrdom.  In May 1980, the new Province of Burundi, Rwanda and Zaire was inaugurated;  the Province of Uganda has grown since then from seventeen to twenty-seven dioceses.  

The Diocese of Kigezi is one of those dioceses, marked 26th in the map below. The Church in the Diocese of Kigezi is built on the foundation of Jesus Christ and has been strengthened by the revival movement.

The Diocese is administered according to a Constitution promulgated in 1967 and amended in 1987 and 1992.

 The Church of Uganda









Map from Anglican Communion website

Programmes of the



+ Mission and Evangelism

+ Health

+ Water

+ Economic

+ Educational

+ Child Development

+ Youth

+ Women

+ Lake Bunyonyi


Constraints and Opportunities


Theological Education by Extension Programme  (TEE)      


The Diocese and VTS





















All rights reserved Return to Homepage

Designed and maintained by

AIS  Anglican Internet Services