Contact UsBishop Barham University College |


Site Map

About Us

+ Our History

+ Church of Uganda

+ Mission Statement

+ Expanse of Diocese



+ General

+ Archdeaconaries

+ DevelopmentProgrammes


Main Problems

+ Spiritual

+ Socio-economic

+ Health

+ Information









Administration of the Diocese

Archdeaconaries and Parishes

The Diocese is divided into Archdeaconaries and Parishes for easy and effective administration of the Diocese and and fro bringing services nearer to the people.  

There are three Archdeaconaries

  • Eastern at Kihanga
  • Central at Kikungiri, and 
  • Western at Nyaruhanga.

In addition, there is a Cathedral Chapter at Rugarama.

Altogether, there were 92 Parishes, 434 Congregational Churches, 434 Church teachers (that is, 184 Lay Readers and 250 Catechists) and 3,656 Church Wardens.  There are 153 Ordained Clergy of who 4 are women.  

Administration of Development Programmes/Projects

The Diocese has developed a number of programmes and projects through which it reaches out to groups and meets their needs, both spiritual and material.  All programmes or projects of the Diocese are headed by Programme/Project Coordinators with considerable skills.

| return to first page |


Programmes of the



+ Mission and Evangelism

+ Health

+ Water

+ Economic

+ Educational

+ Child Development

+ Youth

+ Women

+ Lake Bunyonyi


Constraints and Opportunities


Theological Education by Extension Programme  (TEE)      


The Diocese and VTS





















All rights reserved Return to Homepage

Designed and maintained by

AIS  Anglican Internet Services